Friday, March 5, 2010

Tampa Bay History Center Announces Winners of 2010 Hillsborough County History Fair

More than 200 middle and high school students from Hillsborough County’s public and private schools participated in this year’s Hillsborough County History Fair. Students competed in one of five categories: documentary, website, performance, exhibit, and research paper. Winners advance to the state competition in Tallahassee. This year’s theme is Innovation in History: Impact and Change.

The 2010 Florida History Fair winners are:

Individual Documentary
1st Arnel Garcesa King High School

2nd Jacqueline Feliciano Leto High School

3rd Jousling Vazquez, Tampa Bay Tech

Group Performance

1st Cassie McKenzie & Amy Mildebrath, Alonso High School

2nd Megan Lozicki, Katie Sibson, Alex Goodman, Amanda Banning, Shannon Russo; Berkeley Preparatory

Individual Exhibition

1st Sara Samaha, Tampa Bay Tech

Group Exhibition

1st  Fahad Syed , Hurara Khan Tampa Bay Tech

2nd Steven Echeverria, Juan Brand Tampa Bay Tech


1st Amy Cheng* King High School
*Patrick Riordan Prize in Florida History Nominee

2nd Olivia Franzblau Berkeley Preparatory

3rd Matt Sheets Berkeley Preparatory


Individual Documentary

1st Andrea Szikszay, Farnell Middle School

2nd Alec Orosco, Farnell Middle School

3rd (tie) Ryan Shikarpuri, Berkeley Preparatory

Christopher Yepez, Buchanan Middle School

Group Documentary

1st Sean Hand & Kelsyn Dellanini, Martinez Middle School

2nd Alyssa Freiermuht & Megan Burbach, Farnell Middle School

3rd Gabby Reimer & Katie Wolf, Carrollwood Day School

Individual Performance

1st Kathryn Morel, Farnell Middle School

2nd Kelsey Rodgers, Progress Village Middle Magnet School

3rd Ryan Crowe, Farnell Middle School

Group Performance

1st Heather Berto, Elaine Hou, Shreya Chidarala, Katya Marlowe, Young Middle Magnet School

2nd Gianna Lathery, Taylor Amore, Bekah Guajardo, Kendall Schmucker, Farnell Middle School

3rd Amanda Miller, Erica Snelling, Hannah Reda, Farnell Middle School

Individual Website

1st Lindsey Mosby, Martinez Middle School

2nd Samantha Owen, Farnell Middle School

3rd Nathanael Pun, Carrollwood Day School

Group website

1st Claire Scoufis, Kelly Murphy, Farnell Middle School

2nd Maddox Corcoran, Connor Wulf, Farnell Middle School

3rd Megan Manaluk, Morgan Phillips, Brandi Griffin, Nataly Capote-Torres,  Martinez Middle School

Individual Exhibition

1st Christine Cooper, Farnell Middle School

2nd Summer Silveus, Coleman Middle School

3rd Avery Gaxha, Coleman Middle School

Group Exhibition

1st Barnett LaVielle, Zach Thompson, Coleman Middle School

2nd Jarrett Wise-Spratt, Chuan Simmons, Turkey Creek Middle School

3rd Hannah Crall, Madi Gemmill, Farnell Middle School


1st Alexis Gonsalves, Farnell Middle School

2nd James Orso*, Tomlin Middle School
* Patrick Riordan Prize in Florida History Nominee

3rd Haley Cruzado, Tomlin Middle School

Held annually, the Hillsborough County History Fair is sponsored and coordinated by the Tampa Bay History Center.

No comments:

Post a Comment


Share |